## INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF ARABIAN HORSERACING AUTHORITIES



**Pattern Race Committee:** Comte Jean Pierre de Gasté 24, rue Albert Joly

F-78000 VERSAILLE

France

Email: harasint@club-internet.fr Phone: +33 (1) 39 49 02 77 Fax: +33 (1) 39 50 95 08

## Conclusion of the 1st Pattern Race Committee of IFAHR:

at: France Galop / 46, place Abel Gance / 92100 Boulogne / France

Monday, 23<sup>rd</sup> of January 2006 / 4:00 p.m. (end 7:40 p.m.)

Invitation made by: Comte Jean Pierre de Gasté

c/o AFAC France

Participants: Comte Jean-Pierrre de Gasté / responsible for the committee

Mrs. Nelly Philippot / Belgium

Mr. Charlie Corbett / UK

Mr. Mats Genberg / Scandinavia Mr. Niels Dreyer / Scandinavia Mr. Wieger de Ruiter / Holland Dr. Hussain Al Redha / Germany

Mr. Yves Plantin / France

Observer: Mr. Faisal Al Mutawa / observer and IFAHR chairman

Mr.Hubert Lorenz / observer and IFAHR secretary-treasurer

## Agreed by the Handicappers Committee Meeting held on 24<sup>th</sup> of January 2006

registered office address:

1

## **IFAHR RACE PATTERN**

At the last Executive Meeting in September 2005 in Toulouse, it was agreed to create a pattern race committee under the chairmanship of Comte Jean-Pierre de Gasté

This committee met yesterday on the 23<sup>rd</sup> of January in Paris and made following decisions, for agreement by todays annual General Meeting.

- 1. That the pattern committee would follow –as closely as possible- the regulations laid down by the International Pattern Committee for Thoroughbred racing.
- 2. All member countries are invited to nominate one member of the pattern race committee.
- 3. The committee will authorise group races for IFAHR member countries, which must be open to all horses acceptable to IFAHR. (Referred to in article 14)
- 4. The committee will co-ordinate the international group race calendar to try to avoid a duplication of races and clash of dates.
- 5. No member country of IFAHR shall be allowed group races that have not been approved by the committee.
- 6. No changes to the conditions, date or name of group races or inclusions of new races will be allowed unless agreed by the committee.
- 7. The committee will meet twice a year. (Therefore the next meeting is scheduled for the first weekend in October and a second before the Annual General Meeting)
- 8. A minimum of 5 member countries must be represented at each meeting, in order to be able to take decisions.

- 9. All sale companies, studbooks and any publications that include racing results will be instructed to only recognise IFAHR approved group races.
- 10. All group races will be rated on the average handicap rating of the first 6 horses. (The IFAHR handicapper committee to ensure that all countries use the internationally recognised 0-140 rating scale).
- 11. For 2006 there will be no restriction on group race prize money.
- 12. Maximum weight penalties were agreed as follows: A winner of a group I race will carry a maximum penalty of 2kgs in a group II Race and 4 kgs in a group III Race. A winner of a group II will carry a maximum penalty of 2kgs in a group III Race. (or equivalent lbs)
- 13. Countries present at the meeting made the following proposal for group races in 2006:
  - France: 8 group I / 5 group II / 4 group III races.
  - UK: 5 group I / 3 group II / 6 group III races.
  - Scandinavia: 2 group III races.
  - Holland: 2 group III races.
  - Belgium: 2 group II races and 1 group III
  - Germany: 1 group II / 3 group III
  - Turkey: 1 group I / 1 group II
  - Federation Maghrebo-Méditerranéenne (combined) : 1 group II race
  - Qatar: Draft for 2006 / 2007 will be submitted to the pattern race committee
  - United Arab Emirates: Draft for 2006 / 2007 will be submitted to the pattern race committee
  - Poland: 1 group I / 1 group II
- 14. In order to recognise the unique situation in regard to Turkey, the following has been agreed: All the above items 1-13 shall only refer to the Group races referred to in article 13. Turkey will continue to run Domestic Group Races. These races will not be open to horses from outside Turkey and will be named as TURKISH GROUP RACES.